Only Three More to Go for WTO’s TFA Entry Into Force

The World Trade Organization’s Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) is likely to enter into force within the next week. Only three more ratifications are now required to reach the 110-country threshold for the agreement to take effect.

The TFA is critical to business, creating more jobs, transparency and predictability while reducing costs and cutting red tape at borders.

Research has shown that implementation of the WTO TFA could reduce global trading costs, on average, by nearly 14.5 percent and cut trading costs for low income countries by at least an estimated 13 percent; nearly 14 percent for lower – middle income countries and nearly 13 percent for upper -middle income countries. Implementation of the TFA can also create up to 20 million jobs and add over $1 trillion to global trade flows.

On January 20, Nigeria became the 106th country to ratify the WTO TFA. Prior to Nigeria, Mozambique deposited its instrument of ratification at the WTO. Mozambique, was joined by St. Vincent and the Grenadines, which deposited its instrument of ratification at the WTO on January 9, 2017.

USCIB Senior Director for Customs Megan Giblin who has been working on the TFA since 2015 noted that “USCIB’s focus has been primarily on the ratification of U.S. FTA partners as well as APEC economies. Outreach efforts and advocacy will continue.”

Countries who have accepted the Agreement:

Hong Kong China, Singapore, the United States, Mauritius, Malaysia, Japan, Australia, Botswana, Trinidad and Tobago, the Republic of Korea, Nicaragua, Niger, Belize, Switzerland, Chinese Taipei, China, Liechtenstein, Lao PDR, New Zealand, Togo, Thailand, the European Union (on behalf of its 28 member states), the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Pakistan, Panama, Guyana, Côte d’Ivoire, Grenada, Saint Lucia, Kenya, Myanmar, Norway, Viet Nam, Brunei, Ukraine, Zambia, Lesotho, Georgia, Seychelles, Jamaica, Mali, Cambodia, Paraguay, Turkey, Brazil, Macao China, the United Arab Emirates, Samoa, India, the Russian Federation, Montenegro, Albania, Kazakhstan, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, Madagascar, the Republic of Moldova, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Peru, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Bangladesh, the Philippines, Iceland, Chile, Swaziland, Dominica, Mongolia, Gabon, the Kyrgyz Republic, Canada, Ghana, Mozambique, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines.


Staff Contact:   Megan Giblin

Director, Customs and Trade Facilitation
Tel: 202.371.9235

Megan Giblin manages USCIB’s work on customs policy, and provides support on trade and investment policy, handling issue management, policy development, and staff support for USCIB committees and working groups. Additionally, she serves as an International Chamber of Commerce (ICC) representative to the World Customs Organization’s Harmonized Systems Committee.
Read More

Related Content